Quarantined!

“Delhi Belly” struck hard at 2am on Dec.19th and I was confined to cabin for three days – two out of necessity, one on doctor’s orders.

When I finally went to the doctor late on the second day (when I thought death was imminent!) I got a dressing down for not going in sooner. Viruses are a very serious concern. Assuming it was from what/where I ate in Goa, I never considered the contagious nature of the bug. Duhhh!

Severely dehydrated, his nurse gave me one I.V. of water with sodium and potassium and another 1/2 with dextrose and then some tablets that helped me get through most of the night. I reported to the clinic the next morning to have another bottle of the stuff pumped into me.

Thankfully we have a cabin with a balcony because his order to stay in the cabin for 24 hrs after the last symptoms presented themselves was difficult enough. This morning I was given the “all clear”. Confused when the doctor told me that the Captain had asked about my health, I found out that I am the only passenger so far who has been quarantined. A distinction I’d rather have done without!

Thankfully I’ve only missed one port, Male, and although I haven’t previously been to the capital, Tony and I were in the Maldives around 15 yrs ago. He went to Male on his own and says that I didn’t really miss anything. I did miss the crossing of the equator ceremony yesterday – Tony underwent the embarrassment of having “King Neptune” pour oatmeal over his head and dub him “transformed from Polliwog into the Secret Society of Shellbacks” (I think you had to be there!).

One good thing about it all, I haven’t gained any weight yet and the cruise is half over!

One thought on “Quarantined!”

  1. Hi Judy,

    I really enjoyed reading your 3 updates this morning but am so sorry to hear you were ill. It’s bad enough to be ill at home, never mind when you’re on vacation. Glad you’re feeling better now. (You’re just going to have to find other ways to get the captain’s attention!)

    Enjoy and stay healthy! Joan

    From: J and T’s Excellent Adventures Reply-To: J and T’s Excellent Adventures Date: Sunday, 22 December, 2013 5:52 AM To: Joan Ethier Subject: [New post] Quarantined!

    WordPress.com hkjudy posted: “”Delhi Belly” struck hard at 2am on Dec.19th and I was confined to cabin for three days – two out of necessity, one on doctor’s orders. When I finally went to the doctor late on the second day (when I thought death was imminent!) I got a dressing down fo”

Leave a Reply

